God’s Power in the 2016 Presidential Election

Today we are exactly 7 months away from the 2016 Presidential Election. Back on January 8th when I posted my first Election blog (“Political Prayer Preparation”) I wasn’t hearing much about the election, now it’s everywhere I look. In that blog I asked that you pray for our future President and for our current leaders. I hope you’ve been able to do that, it’s very important. In the second Presidential Election blog (“Decision America Tour 2016”) I talked about what Franklin Graham was doing in leading our country in prayer and asking people to sign “the Pledge.” Graham was just in California last week and had great things to say about the people praying here for the election.

Today, 7 months out, it is important for us to consider God’s power. In my personal devotionals I’ve been reading the story of Moses going before Pharaoh, at God’s call, to request God’s people to worship Him (Exodus 5:1). Moses gives God all kinds of excuses why he’s the wrong person for the job but God has chosen who He will use. God didn’t have to ask Pharaoh to release His people, He had the power to annihilate every Egyptian on the planet and let His people walk out – but God is always teaching. God says to Pharaoh, “for this purpose I have raised you up, that I may show My power in you…” (Exodus 9:16). It was the one true God who even allowed Pharaoh to become Pharaoh, and that same God will allow our next President to become President. But with the caveat that God’s power will be shown.

Just as He did with Israel God desires that we worship Him. Just as He gave Adam and Eve a choice in the Garden of Eden with the “tree of the knowledge of good and evil” (Genesis 2 & 3), we are given a choice to obey Him or not. Without choice there is no love. Therefore, if you love God and you want to worship Him and you want to obey Him, you must abide by His rules.

His rule and His request of you is this: “if My people, who are called by My name, will humble themselves and pray and seek My face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and will heal their land” (2 Chronicles 7:14, NIV).

Heal their land?! Don’t we need that? We can get so caught up in which candidate said what, and how that infuriated us. We can talk louder than everyone else, spouting obscure, second-hand psedo-political facts. But at the end of the day, we’re called to pray. We’re called to ask God to heal our land. We’re called to ask God to give us clarity on who to vote for and then actually go out and vote!

Today I am reminding you that God will reveal His power through the next President, do your job, make your choice at obedience and agree with God that His power should be shown and that we humbly ask that He heal our land.

7 thoughts on “God’s Power in the 2016 Presidential Election

  1. Yes I think God will put who he wants in office whether we like it or not. If we don’t cry out to him he won’t hear.
    So cry out for his will!!!!
    He will hear😊

    Like

    1. Great point, John! That’s exactly it. God will do what God will do but He invites us to join with Him, in conforming to His will. And there is something truly special when the God of the universe asks us to talk to Him about our leaders. Cry out for His will!

      Like

Leave a Reply

